• Welcome to Jose's Read Only Forum 2023.

BassBox SoundscapeGLSL plugin the 1st

Started by Charles Pegge, January 26, 2008, 12:18:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charles Pegge

This is my first attempt at using GLSL. Getting it operational has been quite an intricate process but once it is  set up, creating alternative landscapes with Shader programs is quite easy - tweaking the built-in variables.

The zip file below cpntains the most recent SoundscapeA and SoundscapeGLSL which is derived from it. There is also a folder called 'Shader' which contains the Shader program source: 'ShaderA.txt'. If there are any shader compile errors the shader will not be generated and the errors will be reported in 'shader_errors.txt', also within this fplder. 'shader_errors.txt' will not be deleted if the subsequent compiles are okay. Debugging is easy if you make alterations one at a time. If the shader fails to compile then the scene will be identical to SoundscapeA. If the scene looks weird or is not what you expected then you are at least error free as far as GLSL is concerned.

Shader compilation automatically takes place when the Plugin is started. To recompile the shader it is only necessary to select an adjacent plugin then reselect the SoundscapeGLSL plugin to restart it. The shader source code is very short so Notepad is fine for editing.

If your video system does not support all the functions required to implement the shader from Opengl then all the shader code will be bypassed and you will only see the SoundscapeA scene.

To install to Bassbox drop the files and the shader folder into the BassBox\BBPlugin folder as usual.

PS: Plugged a hole for systems not supporting GLSL (would cause a GPF!)

Kent Sarikaya

Charles, great job, runs very smoothly even fullscreen!!

Charles Pegge