• Welcome to Jose's Read Only Forum 2023.

First Steps With 64 Bit COM

Started by Frederick J. Harris, November 17, 2013, 10:45:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frederick J. Harris

Just within the past couple weeks I started playing around with 64 bit COM and have learned a few interesting things I'd like to share.  Whether this stuff is obvious to everyone else or not I don't know, but to me some of it was new and very interesting, and I'd like to share it. 

So here is the context for my beginnings here with 64 bit COM.  Within the past year I've incorporated my COM based grid control into my work apps and it works great!  Of course, its as I posted it here on my board, and I did it with low level PowerBASIC 32 bit code.  While I expect 32 bit code to be functional for a long time, I felt it incumbent upon myself to explore the possibilities of converting my code to 64 bit C++ (mostly C really).  And since 32 bit dlls don't work that great hosted by 64 bit code my starting point has to be the ActiveX grid really that is used throughout my apps.

So I figured my first steps would be experimenting with the VC++ 64 bit compiler tool chain.   In most of my C and C++ work in COM I used Microsoft's old VC98 from the Enterprise Version of Visual Studio 6.  Old, I know, but a standard in its day and in around that time, i.e., 1998 or so, Microsoft pretty much had COM completely worked out - particularly with regard to ActiveX Controls.  The documentation that came with that old version on the MSDN disks was really good and complete.

But this is 2013 and VC98 can't do 64 bit so that forced me to move up to Visual Studio 2008 Pro (Every 10 years I get a new version of Visual Studio whether I need it or not.  My next will be 2018 I guess.)  So that version allows me to create either 32 bit or 64 bit code.